Commission challenges states over Erika law

Eight EU countries are being taken to court by the European Commission for failing to transpose a maritime safety law agreed following the Erika and Prestige oil tanker spills. The 2002 directive established an EU-wide traffic monitoring and information system to help authorities respond to incidents, accidents and potentially dangerous situations (EED 03/10/02). Member states were required to transpose the law by 5 February this year. Belgium, Greece, France, Italy, the Netherlands, Austria, Finland and the UK have still not confirmed that they have done so. See press release.

The full text of this article is only available to subscribers and free trialists. To login,please enter your email address and subscriber access code below.

Not a subscriber or free trialist? Why not take a free 14 day trial or subscribe today!

Having trouble logging in? Please contact our helpdesk

Back to top Back to top