European forest certification scheme expands

Eight national forest certification schemes joined the ruling council of sustainable forestry certification umbrella PEFC on Friday, bringing to 26 the total number that could participate in the organisation's mutual recognition process. As well as Estonia, Lithuania, Luxembourg and the Slovak Republic the new members include Australia, Brazil, Chile and Malaysia, marking a significant step towards global reach for the originally European organisation. At its general assembly the PEFC council also approved revised procedures for aligning national standards with PEFC guidelines. See PEFC press releases on new members and procedures.

Please sign in to access this article. To subscribe, view our subscription options, or take out a free trial.

Please enter your details

Forgotten password?

Having trouble signing in?

Contact Customer Support at
or call 020 8267 8120

Not a subscriber?

Take a free trial now to discover the critical insights and updates our coverage offers subscribers.