Seven states failing to implement aviation law

Seven member states have still not implemented a 2008 directive on the inclusion of the aviation sector in the EU's emissions trading scheme (ETS), a European Commission official said on Thursday. Member states had until 2 February to do so.

The non-compliant countries are France, Slovakia, Cyprus, Estonia, Hungary, Greece and Poland. The official said the commission will "pursue as usual every measure that is in its power to make countries [comply]", but declined to elaborate on whether it is considering infringement actions against non-compliant states at this stage.

Please sign in to access this article. To subscribe, view our subscription options, or take out a free trial.

Please enter your details

Forgotten password?

Having trouble signing in?

Contact Customer Support at
or call 020 8267 8120

Not a subscriber?

Take a free trial now to discover the critical insights and updates our coverage offers subscribers.