No early phase 3 ETS auctions for eight states

Seven countries have not yet been admitted to the EU’s auction platform while Poland has decided to push back auction volumes to next year

Seven member states have not yet been admitted to the EU’s common auction platform for early carbon auctions under phase 3 of the emissions trading scheme (ETS), meaning their allowances will have to be sold next year instead.

Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Hungary, Ireland and Malta have not yet been admitted as auctioneers to the EEX carbon exchange, ENDS has learned. EEX is responsible for hosting the sales.

In addition, auction volumes for Poland, which will use the common EU platform while it prepares to launch its own platform, have also been pushed back to next year.

Please sign in to access this article. To subscribe, view our subscription options, or take out a free trial.

Please enter your details

Forgotten password?

Having trouble signing in?

Contact Customer Support at
or call 020 8267 8120

Not a subscriber?

Take a free trial now to discover the critical insights and updates our coverage offers subscribers.