Three more EU green accession deals struck

Transition periods cut back as environmental chapter closed with Estonia, Hungary, Czech Republic

The Swedish presidency announced today it had agreed the environmental terms of entry to the EU for three further accession countries. The accord slashes to a handful the number of transition periods Hungary, Estonia and the Czech Republic will be allowed before they must implement EU environmental directives. Those accepted are the same length as requested by the countries concerned.

At the last of the regular accession conferences under Swedish direction, the Czech Republic agreed to cut its transition periods from seven to two, while Hungary and Estonia will receive four apiece, substantially fewer than they had wanted. The deals close the environment chapter of the accession negotiations for these countries. Slovenia closed the same chapter earlier this year ENDS Daily 22 March).

Please sign in to access this article. To subscribe, view our subscription options, or take out a free trial.

Please enter your details

Forgotten password?

Having trouble signing in?

Contact Customer Support at
or call 020 8267 8120

Not a subscriber?

Take a free trial now to discover the critical insights and updates our coverage offers subscribers.