Accession ministers sign EU biodiversity pledge

Eighth annual gathering in Brussels debates sustainable development, Natura network

Environment ministers from prospective central and eastern European members of the EU gathered in Brussels today for their eighth annual meeting with the European environment commissioner. Danish environment minister Hans Christian Schmidt, representing the current EU presidency, was also present.

Top of the agenda was a discussion of the EU's sustainable development strategy ahead of the Johannesburg sustainability summit next month. The ministers also signed the El Teide declaration, a reaffirmation of support for the EU's Natura 2000 protected areas network.

Please sign in to access this article. To subscribe, view our subscription options, or take out a free trial.

Please enter your details

Forgotten password?

Having trouble signing in?

Contact Customer Support at
or call 020 8267 8120

Not a subscriber?

Take a free trial now to discover the critical insights and updates our coverage offers subscribers.