More national emission trading plans out

Portugal, Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Slovenia issue plans for second phase of EU ETS

Three more EU states and prospective member Bulgaria have agreed emission caps for phase two of the EU emission trading scheme (2008-12).  Portugal, the Czech Republic and Slovenia were among eight countries the European commission put on notice of legal action in mid-October for failing to submit plans on time (EED 12/10/06).

* After initially proposing to rein in emissions significantly, Portugal has finally put forward a cap virtually identical with that in phase one (2005-7).  The increase from 33.93m tonnes of CO2 per year proposed in June to 37.9m tonnes in the final plan is mostly because 5.08m tonnes has now been added for new entrants.

Please sign in to access this article. To subscribe, view our subscription options, or take out a free trial.

Please enter your details

Forgotten password?

Having trouble signing in?

Contact Customer Support at
or call 020 8267 8120

Not a subscriber?

Take a free trial now to discover the critical insights and updates our coverage offers subscribers.