EU to get new energy, transport, environment chiefs

European Commission president José Manuel Barroso has decided to reshuffle all returning commissioners, meaning that Andris Piebalgs and Antonio Tajani will no longer head up energy and transport under a new commission, ENDS has learned.

"It is completely unacceptable that Barroso and [secretary general Catherine] Day are rotating experienced commissioners just in order to weaken them," Green Luxembourger MEP Claude Turmes told ENDS on Thursday.

Please sign in to access this article. To subscribe, view our subscription options, or take out a free trial.

Please enter your details

Forgotten password?

Having trouble signing in?

Contact Customer Support at
or call 020 8267 8120

Not a subscriber?

Take a free trial now to discover the critical insights and updates our coverage offers subscribers.