Commission urges eight countries to submit national climate plans

The European Commission is still waiting for eight member states to submit their 10-year integrated national energy and climate plans (NECP) for the period 2021 to 2030, which were due at the end of last year.

Bulgaria, France, Germany, Ireland, Luxembourg, Romania, Slovenia and Spain were prompted to submit their final plans in a letter sent by the commission last week, an EU source told ENDS.

Commission vice-president Frans Timmermans and energy commissioner Kadri Simson sent the letter urging countries to report on the progress made at least on crucial chapters of the plans.

Please sign in to access this article. To subscribe, view our subscription options, or take out a free trial.

Please enter your details

Forgotten password?

Having trouble signing in?

Contact Customer Support at
or call 020 8267 8120

Not a subscriber?

Take a free trial now to discover the critical insights and updates our coverage offers subscribers.