Århus convention to enter into force

The pan-European Århus convention on access to information, public participation in decision making and access to justice on environmental issues will take effect on 30 October after Armenia became the 16th country to ratify the instrument. The development was announced by UN Economic Commission for Europe (UN/ECE), which brokered agreement on the instrument in 1998 (EED 25/06/98). Only two EU countries - Denmark and Italy - have so far ratified, though preparations are being made by others, as well as the EU as a whole (EED 29/01/01). See press release.

The full text of this article is only available to subscribers and free trialists. To login,please enter your email address and subscriber access code below.

Not a subscriber or free trialist? Why not take a free 14 day trial or subscribe today!

Having trouble logging in? Please contact our helpdesk

Back to top Back to top