Alpine protection rules on the menu

The eight parties of the Alpine convention held talks in Bavaria last week. Germany, which is chairing the convention until November 2004, presented a ten-point plan for swift implementation of the convention's nine protocols on issues ranging from transport, energy and forests to soil protection. Germany, Austria, Liechtenstein and Italy have now ratified the protocols. Little progress is being made towards ratification by the other four - Switzerland, France, Slovenia and Monaco - according to the German environment ministry. See Alpine protection commission.

The full text of this article is only available to subscribers and free trialists. To login,please enter your email address and subscriber access code below.

Not a subscriber or free trialist? Why not take a free 14 day trial or subscribe today!

Having trouble logging in? Please contact our helpdesk

Back to top Back to top