New European Commission line-up announced

Incoming European Commission president José Manuel Barroso has proposed a new team of commissioners following his stand-off with the European parliament over the now ousted Italian nominee Rocco Buttiglione. Prospective environment commissioner Stavros Dimas stays in place but Hungary's commissioner László Kovács has lost the energy policy portfolio to new Latvian commissioner Andris Piebalgs. Latvia's previous nominee, Ingrida Udre, a Green, has been removed. However, Mariann Fischer Boel of Denmark has held onto agriculture despite parliamentary concerns over a possible conflict of interest. See press release.

The full text of this article is only available to subscribers and free trialists. To login,please enter your email address and subscriber access code below.

Not a subscriber or free trialist? Why not take a free 14 day trial or subscribe today!

Having trouble logging in? Please contact our helpdesk

Back to top Back to top