2019 European Elections

Crucial elections take place between 23 and 26 May 2019, when 373 million EU citizens will elect a new European parliament. Once formed, the parliament will elect the new president of the European Commission and will endorse the entire College. The elections could lead to a major political shift with significant impacts for environmental policy.

Latest Articles

Ursula von der LEYEN, Candidate for President of the European Commission meets with the EPP group (Mathieu CUGNOT © European Union 2019 - Source : EP)

Von der Leyen floats 55% emissions cut by 2030

Ursula von der Leyen, president designate of the European Commission, has proposed halving the EU’s greenhouse gas emissions by 2030 compared to 1990 levels, while suggesting 55% could be possible

More 2019 European Elections articles
Back to top Back to top